Once a customer has been added to your software, and their currency has been selected, their currency cannot be changed. This restriction has been implemented by design.
The reason your customer's currency cannot be changed is that any updates made to your customer's currency will severely affect the numbers you use for reporting, invoicing, and accounting. We want to ensure these are all accurate as they are crucial sectors of your business.
At this time, our road map does not include any changes to the way this part of the software works. This is mainly due to the errors it would create within your Reports.
Currency Update Workaround
However, the following workaround will not affect your invoicing or accounting. This will allow you to have the customer's correct currency listed within your system without impacting any other information.
This can be used for:
- Creating a new Customer in your system in addition to your existing one
This is applicable for customers who use both USD and CAD as their currency
- Creating a new Customer in your system to replace an existing one
This is applicable to correcting customers whose currency has been entered incorrectly
How to Update a Customer's Currency
Follow the steps below to update a Customer's Currency:
- Add the existing Customer again as a new Customer using this article:
Add a new Customer
- Add the Customer again, but make sure to select the correct currency
- If you would like to remove the original Customer from your system, follow the steps here regarding how to deactivate an existing Customer:
Update an Existing Customer
If you would like to be able to use both CAD and USD for this Customer, skip this step and leave the existing Customer Profile to be used at a later time